Plecos, guppies and shrimp hobbyist

Hello there everyone. My name is Jeff. I have been breeding, raising, selling, and shipping fish going on 15 years now. I am a hobbyist at heart and love keeping and breeding fish. But, there comes a time when fish have to be sold. At one time I had around 35 aquariums in my basement. I have downsized a lot since then and currently have 10 aquariums. I keep and breed bristlenose plecos, neocaridina shrimp, and fancy guppies. I have been lucky to get really good stock from other breeders that has kept my lines of fish going for years.

1 Like

Welcome to the forum and Light Fish!

Do you have any tips on selling fish.

Hello :slight_smile: What tips do you have for raising Red Cherry Shrimp? I am new to them and only recently returned to maintaining aquariums , but am crazy about the RCS. I have a couple of berried females and am awaiting the shrimplets. :slight_smile: I have my tank planted with java moss. I have a foam cover for my filter. I hope these two features help the mommas feel safe and give the babies places to hide. I have found that a black substrate and background really help them keep a dark red. As well, they seem to be more relaxed with the black background on two sides of the tank(back and a side). I am using Glas Garten prepared shrimp foods, mineral supplements very sparingly. I change about 10% of the water every week or so. What is your opinion about how many RCS one can have per gallon? I recently found an actual study that indicated 3 per liter resulted in the maximum size and apparently healthy behaviors around grazing,etc.